Uncooked Data

Icon

Library related events, questions and links: My professional life on a page

Twenty Questions to a Fellow Blogger part 2: Woodsiegirl

Laura, aka Woodsiegirl, was one of the other three winners of the SLA’s ECCA. I first met her a few weeks before we flew to Washington, DC. Since then she’s convinced me there is a point to Twitter and done sterling work helping with the technical aspects of the SLA blog. Laura is also a fellow law librarian.

What’s your all-time favourite blog?

I have over a hundred blogs in my RSS reader – my “favourite” probably changes daily! At the moment, I particularly like Stephen’s Lighthouse and Librarian in Black for library stuff; Ouseful Info and Overdue Ideas for techie stuff; Jack of Kent and 3 Geeks and a Law Blog for legal stuff; and Awful Library Books and But, Sir… for giggles.

As a blogger, what’s your proudest blog moment, all-time favourite or most commented post?

I think the most-commented post I’ve written was my post about how I got into librarianship – 27 comments! Although, a lot of those are pingbacks rather than actual comments. That’s probably also my proudest moment in blogging, as that was what kicked off the Library Routes Project.

What is your day job? Is your blog linked to, tangential or completely separate from what you do?

I’m an information assistant at a law firm. I’d say my blog is tangential to what I do – I don’t actually talk much about law librarian-y stuff, just libraries in general (and anything else that pops into my head really, I’m quite easily distracted!)

In the future of the internet and information, which will win: speed or accuracy?

Ooh, good question! I’d love to say accuracy, but I suspect most users are more interested in speed, so I think that’s the way it’ll go.

What is your favourite journey?

Literal journey? I quite like going back to see my family in Wiltshire by train – as you leave London, the grey gradually disappears and everything gets greener the further West you get. It’s not much fun if the train’s packed though, as it usually is!

What one thing (material, spiritual or emotional) would change your life for the better?

More time!

If you were stranded on a desert island, which book would you wish you had with you? (you can choose one fiction and one non-fiction)

Non-fiction: Joseph Campbell’s “The Hero with a Thousand Faces”. Fascinating book, and one that rewards the kind of detailed attention I’d be able to give it on a desert island!

Fiction: Only one?? Hmm, ok… “The Magus”, by John Fowles. Maybe if I was stranded there for a few years I’d finally make sense of it!

What’s your must-see film?

Casablanca. Corny, I know, but I think that it’s absolutely stunning, visually. Every shot is perfect.

Which song sums up your life?

No idea. Not very good with music.

Marmite: Love it or hate it?

Hate hate hate! A co-worker has marmite on toast in the mornings sometimes; it stinks out the whole office!

How do you relax?

Reading or daydreaming.

Who is your greatest inspiration?

Both of my grandmas, each for very different reasons.

Where would you most like to visit? And where do you never want to have to go again?

I really want to visit both Florence and Venice. I can’t think of anywhere I’ve been that I’d never want to see again though.

Do you have a favourite website/ tool for work? Or for leisure purposes?

I hate to say it, but that’s probably Google. I use Google Mail, Reader, Documents, Calendar and Maps very heavily; and have just got myself a Wave account (haven’t played with it much yet though).

Do you read a newspaper? Is that online, or in paper form or both?

Well, I scan through the broadsheets daily for work! I don’t buy any print newspapers myself, although I do read the Guardian online pretty much every day.

What’s the best piece of advice you have been given? And what’s the worst?

Worst: My grandpa tells me I should retrain as an accountant every time I see him. I’m really not sure why.

Best: I’ve been given lots of good advice over the years, most of which I’m sure I ignored! The first thing that springs to mind is my sister telling me I should ditch my rubbish boyfriend (at the time) and move to London – I didn’t appreciate it when she said it, but that is what I ended up doing and it turned out to be a really good move!

Filed under: Questions to a fellow blogeer

Leave a Reply

Some possibly useful research links

